superhard.blogg.se

External hard drive for video editing mac
External hard drive for video editing mac








external hard drive for video editing mac
  1. #External hard drive for video editing mac portable#
  2. #External hard drive for video editing mac plus#

My tried-and-true favorite 4K editing drive is currently the 1TB T5 Portable Solid-State Drive (Black). For example, the kitchen table, or on the coffee table in the living room. But even then, I tend to park myself all over the house. I’ll connect my laptop to a larger monitor at various stages of the project. With this freedom, I find the only time I’m cutting at a desk is when I’m doing audio passes with studio monitors. With solid state media, I have found speed, reliability AND the benefit of being able to take entire projects with me wherever I go. I used to rely on toaster-sized RAID drives to get the speed and reliability I needed for editing. So now let’s talk about the fun stuff – speedy editing drives.

external hard drive for video editing mac

I like that they won’t take up much space. And that matters to me – they will (hopefully) live out their lives in a drawer. So for a little more money, you get drives that are a LOT more rugged and a little bit faster.īoth the above drives are about the size of a typical iPhone. These drives clock for me at around 110 MB/s read and write speeds. For $95, you’re getting a drive you can drop in the water, with rubber bumpers to break its fall, and a built-in USB-C cable. If you have a computer with USB-C, however, I recommend the aPrime ineo rugged waterproof IP-66 certified drives. So if your client wants the files at any point, you can simply hand them the drive. The nice thing about USB3 is that it’s compatible with just about any computer out there, both Windows and Mac. That’s way too slow to edit 4K video on, of course, but we only need it for storage. Black Magic Speed Test clocks it at 75 MB/s.

#External hard drive for video editing mac plus#

The drive I have most frequently chosen for this is the 2TB Backup Plus Slim Portable External USB 3.0 Hard Drive. It currently costs $65. I use Hedge which enables me to have two backups of the media from the get-go. At the end of each day of production, I’ll lay off the files to both simultaneously. In my case, that’s generally 1 to 2 terabyte drives. When I get a new 4K project, I buy two hard drives big enough to hold all project media. Let’s unpack what that means in today’s technology landscape. So my short answer was: “Buy the cheapest drives you can afford to store your media, and the most expensive drive you can afford to edit it.”

external hard drive for video editing mac

Most beginning filmmakers are on tight budgets. One of my students at Seattle Film Institute asked me a question the other day: “How do you choose hard drives for 4K video?”










External hard drive for video editing mac